Europe 2016 | Day 7 | Amsterdam

Amsterdam is a city with it all, it has the nightlife, culture, architecture and history. Plus the canals are stunning.

DO

Today I went to the Anne Frank House. This was an incredible experience. You really got an insight into what it was like to be a in hiding for two years and how the reign of terror ruined peoples lives so completely. They were just a regular family and had done nothing wrong but were prosectuted anyway. You could even see where they had marked how much they grew on the wall. It was truly heartbreaking.

I then wondered through the Bloemenmarkt, a flower market. It was great seeing the seeds before they are actual flowers. It’s inspired me to do my garden at home, I’ve neglected it a little bit.

I met up with my friend Lo for lunch in Vondelpark (amazing but read below). After lunch we went to the Van Gogh Musuem. You got a real insight into how his mind worked and his overwhelming passion for art. I love Van Gogh, you can tell from any piece that this painting is the only thing that matters to him in that moment. I also found out he died on my birthday which is completely heartbreaking.

The evening wasn’t as crazy/strange as last night but the nightlife here is so electric. Just walking around and seeing all the different people is fun.

EAT

I had a picnic lunch in Vondelpark today, it’s the best thing just chilling on the grass with Amsterdam cheese and wine! There are even plastic blankets you can use, it’s genius.

Dinner today was at this Mexican restaurant, Elvino. It was okay, nothing too special but cheap and big meal servings.

Leave a Reply

