Europe 2016 | Day 3 | Paris

Day 3 in Paris and the weather is not on my side however this city is still beautiful!

DO

I woke up bright and early today to do the Cathedrale de Notre Dame de Paris. The inside of the cathedral didn’t impress me too much but then again it’s not my thing. What really got my attention was the gothic architecture. It’s so awe inspiring and you have to step back take it in. Every time you look there’s a new gargoyle or small detail you missed the other million times you looked. The views from the towers are amazing, well worth conquering the narrow staircases!



After Notre Dame I wandered the streets of Paris to the Centre Pompidou. Before I got there though I detoured because I saw some amazing street art, after taking some snaps I went back on course. When I got to the Centre Pompidou I figured out I had gone in a complete circle and the street art was to the right!! Minus the extra steps this place is amazing with works from Andy Warhol, Salvador Dali and Yoko Ono to name a few. My favourite piece was by an artist new to me, Fredrich Kunath. I can’t wait to come back and see it all again, this is a must see whenever in Paris!




After Centre Pompidou I met up with Rebecca and we went to the Arc de Triomphe. On the way we walked down the Champs-Elysees, I used every fiber in my body not to buy anything!! Trying to pinpoint what’s so impressive about the Arc de Tiomphe isn’t hard but there’s something it envokes in you when near it. It’s got fierce female warriors bounding into battle and these intricate soldiers holding up the arc. Then there’s the craziness of the roundabout which you don’t really notice until you turn around. It’s simply an impressive monument.


As I said the weather wasn’t great today so the top of the Eiffel Tower was closed. It’s was still an amazing view from the second floor. The best view however is at 9pm, from the grass area when the light show begins!



EAT

I didn’t fill up enough at breakfast so I  grabbed a pastry on the go from a cute bakery near Notre Dame.



By lunch time I was nice and wet so we stopped at Le Carousel opposite the Louvre and had pizza to warm us up. They had this tasty chilli oil and made my four formage pizza even better.



When in Paris you have to try Angelina’s. It has the most amazing selection of sweets and apparently one of the best hot chocolates out. I would have to agree with that statement. It was creamy and warming but after two small cups I had enough. I also tried the macarons. I don’t know if it was the fancy decor or the fact I’m in Paris but they were delicious.

Visiting the typical French restaurants with the wicker chairs is a right of passage so I gave in and went to Bistrot Le champ de Mars, near the Eiffel Tower. It wasn’t the best meal I had in Paris, it reminded me of real pubs meals at home.

Leave a Reply

